Beating the rain…

20130517-163045.jpg

Greetings followers!

Apologies it’s been a while, I’m going through a rather extreme state of flux at the moment! My internship in marketing is over and I am now flailing around trying to find the next step. I’ve found myself in training to be a barista, which is proving to be a lot of fun. I love being on my feet and, oh my, it is SO therapeutic to smack used coffee dust out of the basket! I feel a lot freer and happier, the money is just enough and I have plans for the future.

Anyway, this isn’t about ME it’s about YOU, or just in general a little bit of wisdom I’ve gained over the past two weeks. You see, it’s gotten a bit rainy over here in jolly old England and it’s managed to start raining just as I need to leave whatever shelter I’ve found (home, work, café). Life can sometimes feel this way; no matter how hard you’re trying you keep getting caught out in the rain and things just aren’t going to plan or as well as they could! There are two things I learned:

  1. Persevere and keep an eye on the end goal (the next place of shelter!). It doesn’t rain on anyone forever. No, seriously, it doesn’t. It can rain for a bloody long time but it will stop.
  2. Actually, getting caught out in the rain isn’t always bad. It’s nice to feel an unusual sensation. Let’s face it, it rains a lot here but you usually watch it from indoors! How often do you actually go outside and feel it for more than a few minutes? In the same way, you can enjoy… savour(?)… some hardships. We can get a bit too cosy in life and they’re there to push our boundaries.

So, if you’re flapping around like a guppy, as I am right now; take a deep breath! Feel the rain! Keep going! Because, you know what? I beat the rain home yesterday! I ran into my house and bam! As I shut the door, the heavens opened. I was so happy that I beat it that I actually danced a little and told at least 3 people on Facebook!

Happy wanderings, friends!

Lizzie

Leave a Reply

