Dance to Change the World

I don’t know about you but I’m feeling all happy and inspired, I tend to dance around my room. What I don’t tend to do is dance when the going gets tough. Then, I slouch and mope and generally look as graceful as a rhino as it horn-rams a tree.

What do I know about dance? It frees your soul. If you’re not into that sort of terminology then, scientifically, it releases endorphins and makes you happy. Whichever way you want to slice it, if you want to turn your frown upside down a quick twerk or pas de chat (or a wizard combination of both!) could really help.

However, this is all on a very me-me-me level and what this lady, Mallika Sarabhai, has to say is far more important. Give the video a go. it’s all about how dance can be used to change perceptions and how it could be a key to dramatic world change…

Art can go through where other things can’t. You can’t have barriers, because it breaks through your prejudices, breaks through everything that you have as your mask, that says, “I am this, I am that, I am that.” No. It breaks through those. And it reaches somewhere where other things don’t. And in a world where attitudes are so difficult to change, we need a language that reaches through.

Leave a Reply

