“This moment is your life.” Omar Khayyum

I’m going to briefly explain why I love this quote and why I really badly needed to hear it today and will undoubtedly need to remember it in future.

Consider the “this moment” part. This moment is right now, this very instant. It is The Present Moment. If time froze right now, “this moment” would be exactly where you are; all of your possessions and wealth suspended and unchanging. All the friends and family you have can could change in an instant but not right now, not in this instance. Where you are sitting, you may have a roof over your head, or at least own one somewhere, you might have food, even if it is little of it, the same with money.

Right now I’m experiencing the usual end-of-month panic: “URGH I have no money! I am sick of working for minimum wage! I’m sick of barely having enough money to feed myself without worrying about what I’m spending!”

But, I am ok. I have family and friends that love me and whilst I am dicing with what feels like death, it isn’t really that bad. I’ve got everything I need for this moment and there are reachable solutions. As usual I am being reminded to be wiser with my money. There are a lot of little things I’ve spent money on that I could have dispensed with or bought a cheaper version of. If you’re in a similar situation, try not to beat yourself up about it; it’s just extra stress. No-one is born into life knowing exactly how to get it right and for all the advice we receive we are bound to make mistakes. We’re human. And some of us are still undergoing brain development which makes us impulsive and a bit silly (see fascinating Ted.com talk by  Sarah Jayne Blakemore about the adolescent brain)!

Ultimately, there is always a lot of peace to be found in the present moment. Yes, it might feel like the world around me is caving in, but I am still alive, mostly independent and not on the red line just yet. I’m definitely that little bit wiser and that has to count for something.

Leave a Reply

